Knowledgebase & FAQ

Error: 'Audit Trail almost full'

Symptom

When performing a function within RecFind, you receive a message stating that the Audit Trail is almost full.

Cause

RecFind includes an audit trail to record any modifications that are made to the system, when and by who.

Periodically the audit trail is saved (or "dumped") out of RecFind to prevent it from becoming too large, afterall it is writing a record every time some adds, modifies, view or deletes a record. In a large system this could quickly become a very large file.

Traditionally the audit trail is dumped to a floppy drive.

RecFind has the ability to set the maximum amount of information that the audit trail will store so that it doesn't become so large that it wont fit on your floppy drive. When users experience the error 'Audit trail is almost full' it mean that it has reached that limit.

Solution

There are two options:

  1. Increase the maximum audit trail size - using the "Modify Audit Trail Parameters" option within the Admin: Audit module.



    Please note that by increasing the size of your audit trail it may not be able to be dumped to a floppy disk at a later date (because it is too large to fit on a floppy disk). This is only suitable if you save the audit trail to a hard drive.
     
  2. Dump the current audit trail - using the "Dump the Audit Trail to File" function with the Admin: Audit module.

    To dump the audit trail:
     
    1. Load the Audit module from the RecFind Admin toolbar
       
    2. From the File menu select 'Dump audit trail to file'
       
    3. Note the 'audit trail will be dumped to:' setting. This is by default  'A:\AUDIT.DMP'.

      If it is 'A:\AUDIT.DMP', then it is configured to save the audit trail to your A drive. If it is A:\AUDIT.DMP insert a blank formatted floppy disk in to your computer and click OK.

      Some customers save the audit trail to a hard drive and change the file name each time they dump (eg. to contain the date). To do this, click CANCEL then select the 'Modify audit trail parameter' option from the File menu and enter the new file name. Then click OK and then re-select from the file menu 'Dump audit trail to file', and click OK.
       

    4. Once it's saved the audit trail it will come up and say 'Audit dump created successfully! Do you want to erase the audit database?'. Click 'Yes' as all information is now saved.

    Now that the audit trail is dump, users will no longer receive a message saying it's almost full.

Please note that certain functions (e.g. box functions) write to the audit trail of the "Standard" database, not the current database. It may therefore be necessary to dump the Standard database's audit trail file.

Back to FAQ index

 

  Back | Top
Site by Intelliweb Productions